Prompt #10 – Something Funny

Prompt #10: Something Funny

Written on March 2, 2011 by SuzyQ in Weekly Prompts

Week 10, here we come! Are you a bit behind? How’d you like to win up to 12 of your Project: Love, Me layouts printed by Persnickety Prints? Come check out our back-on-the-bandwagon challenge.

Let’s continue our month of laughter with the next prompt!

Prompt #10

Tell us a funny story … maybe it’s something funny that happened to YOU in the distant or not-so-distant past. Or maybe it’s a funny event that involved you indirectly but still brings a smile to your face. Does it still make you laugh when you remember this story? What made it funny then? Why is it funny now? Why is it a memory you want to remember?

via Scrapbooking about YOU! | Project: Love, Me.

 

Here’s my Layout!

Supplies Used on Layout: Jessica Edwards “10 Tiny Toes” Kit;  Template by Trish H Designs; Font:  CK Ali’s Hand; Alpha created using Sherri Tierney’s Fill Your Own Alphabet #1 kit.

Journaling: In the spring of 2009, I was feeling unusually tired all of the time.  I would take naps on the couch while Jack played nearby or watched television.  I mentioned this tiredness to John, but thought I was just not getting enough rest at night.  After about a week of being tired, I considered making a doctor’s appointment, but thought maybe I had better take a pregnancy test because I just knew that was going to be one of the questions they would ask me.  So during my next trip to Wal-Mart I picked up the cheapest test I could find.  I was in luck, it came with two tests in the package.  I knew it was a waste of time and that I would just be disappointed again, but I didn’t want to go to the doctor’s office without taking a test first.  They were $30 at the doctor’s office, so I was really just trying to save myself some money.  I didn’t mention that I had bought a test to John, but when I got home from the store I went straight to the bathroom to take the test.  Expecting a single pink line, I didn’t really even think much about it.  I finished my business and looked at the test strip.  There were two faint pink lines staring back at me.  I just couldn’t believe it…surely this junk test was wrong.  I called John in and told him he needed to read the test for me because I was sure something was wrong.  He was in shock too.  I told him not to get too excited.  Surely it was just a false positive.  I would need to take another test.  Good thing I bought the package with two tests!  I took the other test a little later and it was positive again.  I told John he needed to go to the grocery store immediately and get the most expensive test he could find because these junk tests were inaccurate.  He ran to the grocery store because it was the only thing open locally and bought the most expensive one he could find.  I decided to wait until morning to take the test, since it is supposed to be a little more accurate.  We lay in bed that night just talking quietly about…what if.  It had been a long time since we stopped “trying” to get pregnant and now out of nowhere we just might be.  It was a lot to take in and it took a long time to go to sleep that night.  In the morning, I took the third test.  I still got two pink lines.  I just couldn’t believe it.  I called the doctor’s office as soon as it opened to schedule an appointment.  I took one of their “expensive” tests and sure enough…we were pregnant.  Looking back at it now, it is funny to think about.  I took four tests in about eighteen hours and the results didn’t change a bit – Thank God!

 

2 responses to “Prompt #10 – Something Funny

  1. What a wonderful story! 🙂 It’s so hard to trust those darn tests for something so important, isn’t it? Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks Suzy. After years of failed fertility treatments, this pregnancy was quite the shock, but I am glad it turned out just fine. My “baby” is now 16 months old and running me ragged. 🙂

Leave a Reply

